Originally, Dahomey was a pre-colonial kingdom in western Africa that flourished in the 1700s and 1800s in the region that is now southern Benin. In 1894, it was conquered by French troops from Senegal and became a French Protectorate. In 1902, Dahomey became a French colony. It gained full independence in 1960. In 1975, the Republic of Dahomey changed its name to Benin. Stamps of French West Africa were used in Dahomey until 1945. Beginning in 1899 stamps of French West Africa were issued with the inscription DAHOMEY”. Pictorial stamps of French West Africa inscribed “Dahomey” were issued during the years between 1913-1939.”

Showing 1–16 of 27 results