Six British colonies formed the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901, they were: Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland, Victoria, and New South Wales. Stamps inscribed AUSTRALIA were first issued in 1903. The Kangaroo and Map design was adopted for these and subsequent definitive stamps. It remained in use for 38 years. Australia’s first commemorative stamp was issued in 1927 to celebrate the opening of the first Parliament House in Canberra. Australia’s first airmail-stamp was issued in 1929. Until 1997, the only living persons to appear on stamps were the reigning monarch and other members of the British Royal Family. Since 1997, Australia has issued stamps commemorating living Australians.

Showing all 7 results