The French Overseas Department of Mayotte (population 212,000) is an archipelago located in the Northern Mozambique Channel. Mayotte is the outermost region of the European Union, and geologically is the oldest of the Comoro Islands. Originally called Maore, Mayotte was purchased by France in 1841. The first stamps inscribed MAYOTTE were issued in 1892. In 1912 a shortage of the 5c and 10c stamps was remedied by overprinting several denominations of the first series. Local stamps were discontinued in 1914 when the island became part of Madagascar whose stamps it used until 1946. In 1947 it started to use the stamps of the Comoro Islands. From 1976 to 1996 French stamps were used in Mayotte; from 1997 to 2011 Mayotte issued its own stamps. However, following full integration with France, Mayotte began to use the stamps of France exclusively.

Showing all 3 results