On 1 January 1914, Great Britain formally united the Niger area as the Crown Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. The first stamps of the Crown Colony of Nigeria, issued on 1 June 1914, were the standard King George V Empire key type, which had been previously used for the stamps of Northern Nigeria. A set of four stamps, issued on 1 October 1960, saluted the independence of Nigeria; the nation’s first definitive series, issued on 1 January 1961, featured locally relevant designs such as the Central Bank, coal mining, adult education, pottery, weaving, Benin mask, camel train, Nigeria Museum, groundnuts, Kano airport, and Lagos railway station. In 1963, Nigeria became a Republic within the British Commonwealth and a new definitive set depicting indigenous birds and the local fauna was issued on 1 November 1965.

Showing all 3 results